9/20/2018 Nair O.,Oxnard, CA
I just came from Dr. Steensma, office. The staff was wonderful, Pearl, is indeed a jewel. They are very professional and I recommend to anyone. I certainly will return.

  8/06/18 Don B., Ventura, CA
My family and I have been receiving THE BEST eye care from Dr. Don Steensma for the past 14 years. We continue to go to Dr. Steensma for several reasons: his professionalism - always on top of the latest technology and care, and he takes his time in explaining everything in an understandable manner; his office staff - ALWAYS welcoming, courteous, and just plain enjoyable; his selections of eye care and glasses, etc; and his prices - always affordable and suited to YOUR budget - not theirs! I HIGHLY recommend Dr. Don Steensma for all of your eye care needs!

  7/14/2018 Eduardo A.,Port Hueneme, CA

Great optometrist! I had seen the same doctor since elementary school and stayed because his office was the one I always went to. Well I decided to try a different place because I wanted to see if there was a difference, and there were plenty. First of all the office staff is knowledgeable and friendly, they helped me set up an appointment. I was lucky enough to be able to get one that same day I called. When I got there they offered an extra scan of the eye I opted to get. The doctor really explained everything well and easy to understand. My favorite part too is I finally found out why I couldn't wear contacts for too long comfortably something I had complained to my old optometrist, I don't imagine it's to hard to find out a patient has dry eyes.

  7/12/2018 Chris G., Port Hueneme, CA
My son and myself have been going here for a few years now. Staff and doctors are so friendly. Appointments are always on time. Great frame selection. I don't plan on going anywhere else.

  7/10/18 Liz H., Oxnard, CA
Today, was my first time with Dr. Don Steensma. He was phenomenal. He provided me with a thorough report of my eye check up and constantly asked me if I had any questions or needed clarifications. I will definitely keep him as my doctor. Also, a huge thank you to Lili, she went above and beyond with helping me with my paperwork and servicing me. I'm definitely recommending my family and friends.

  7/6/2018 Paige M. , Port Hueneme, CA
I took my Dad in to Dr. Steensmas office, and I must say that he is WONDERFUL. Dr. Steensma was very thorough and helpful by taking his time to break down what is going on and inform me and my dad in depth on his insights and suggestions for my Dads eye conditions. Also, the girls at the front desk were very friendly and courteous!

  6/13/2018 Exene M., Oxnard, CA

A very wide selection of glasses and sunglasses. The front desk is friendly and make you feel extremely comfortable. Lots of room and enough seats.

 4/24/18 Chrissy D., Vacaville, CA
Dr. Steensma and his staff are wonderful! I've been wearing glasses since I was 9 years old. Recently moved here from my hometown with my husband and was in need of a new eye doctor. I saw the reviews for Dr. Steensma and decided to try his office. I was not disappointed. I was taken care of instantly. Everybody was beyond friendly. I felt extremely comfortable. And received excellent care. Also super loved the packet they made me with all of my test and eye information! How handy to have. I would seriously recommend this office to anybody who is looking for a great eye doctor.

  4/16/2018 Kim D. Oxnard, CA
The Office Staff Rocks, Krystal fixed my eyeglasses, the arm fell off, needing a screw, No questions asked and didn't even charge me .. Will return to buy glasses from them in future.. SuperDuper 5 Star Service .. Thank You!!

  02/26/2018 Rudy C. Oxnard, CA

I was looking into a good highly reputable Optometrist, I turned to Yelp for my search and came across Dr. Steensma, so I made an appointment and WoW I loved the service and the great customer service. My exam went smoothly and I scheduled a dialation exam with the front office Lili scheduled me she awesome very friendly, easy to talk to and attentive. Dr. Steensma was what I expected a very caring and one of the greatest Optometrist I've had I will definitely keep them as my preferred Optometrist.

 02/23/2018 Carly J. Oxnard, CA
Have been going here for years! Extremely nice and pleasant staff, all very professional. Office is always clean and nice atmosphere; leaves you with a good feeling. I honestly cant stress enough how nice the ladies that work here are, they really helped me out. Happy repeat customer. Best eye exam rates that I've been able to find anywhere so far.

 01/16/2018 Grace C. Port Hueneme, CA

Dr. Steensma is really nice. It's my first time to his clinic and I was treated nice by him and his colleagues. Feel warm like home.

 12/08/2017 Linda S. Virginia Beach VA
Dr Steensma and his staff are awesome. He was able to see me the same day as I was having eye complications and he worked me into his schedule. He is very knowledgeable and was very helpful. His office staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. I am not from the area and was traveling there for Thanksgiving. I would highly recommend Dr. Steensma's practice.

 12/06/2017 Albert D. Oxnard, CA
I've always enjoyed my visits to Dr Steensma's office. The girls are ALWAYS very knowledgeable and professional. I hadn't been there in a few years but when I visited today I was helped by Krystal who had helped me 3 years ago. It was nice to see a friendly face again. Thank you for all your help today Krystal and for also fixing my bent glasses lol. See you soon

 11/30/2017 Alejandro Z. Oxnard, CA
Came here for my annual check up and found about it through this same app because at this time is more convenient and works with my schedule, el servicio es exelente desde el staff hasta el trato de Los doctores. Me atendio el Dr. Ross, fue muy amable y profesional, la experiencia sobre todo fue muy placentera y me hicieron sentir muy comodo, exelente trato al cliente, keep the good work up guys!

10/31/2017 Chris G. Oxnard, CA

Super friendly and helpful staff. Dr. Don is great at explaining what he doing and why. I highly recommend him!

10/27/2017 Jill M. Ca, Ca
Just had my first appointment here and what an outstanding overall experience!! When I called to make the appointment, the front desk was able to squeeze me in the next day. Upon my visit, I was greeted by a friendly and energetic front office staff. Took about 5-10 minutes to fill out paperwork and then I went back to complete a few eye tests before meeting with the doctor.

If you are wondering about the optional OCR scan (Optical coherence tomographyscan) DO IT.. this test scans 3-D images of your eyes (like a CT scan) so Dr. can to reveal any abnormalities/diseases. Normally this test costs $75-$125 and not covered by insurance. Dr. Steensma charges only $30!

It's no surprise to me this place has won so many awards over the years as Dr. Steensma is absolutely fantastic! He goes above and beyond, taking time to explain every test, answer any/all questions, discuss new technology, options, etc. I was very impressed! Also, I've been thinking about getting LASIK surgery for a while and Dr. Steensma happily answered all my questions and highly recommended Dr. Dogherty in Camarillo. While I was waiting for my eyes to fully dilate for the OCR scan, the front desk called Dr. Dogherty's office and scheduled the LASIK consultation for me. They are on it! Given this turn of events, I figured I should wait on purchasing an annual supply of contact lenses, and instead, Dr. Steensma sent me home with a 3-week supply of trial lenses to get me by while I decide on LASIK!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND DR. STEENSMA!!

 1027/2017 Adrian B.Oxnard, CA
Llo estado en varios oculistas pero cuando encontre al Dr. Steensma me quede, lla e estado con el por 3 años, porque el es un muy buen doctor y tiene una oficina que sabe como tratar a su paciente. Lo digo porque llame a la oficina por un problema con mi ojo que salio de arepente y se que su oficina Es bien ocupada pero la primera cita que cancelo me llamaron en seguida, cuando llegue llo ni tarde 10 min para pasar a la consulta bien rapido el servicio, hamable y más de todo el Doctor me quito las preucupaciones y me contesto cada pregunta. Gracias!!! Llo los recomiendo.

 10/26/2017 Kristi H. Lake Elsinor, CA
Excellent Optometrist!!! My whole family is seen by him. He listens to your concerns, recommends the right needed materials and he is a nice man.

Definitely recommend him

 10/3/201 Phillip M. Ventura, CA
Had an eye problem. Actually walked in and was greeted and helped immediately.
Needed prescription eye drops and was happy right away

 09/18/2017 John H. Port Hueneme, CA
Dr. Steensma, OD FAAO is very knowledgeable about vision and the care and health of the eye. He goes out of his way to explain everything clearly and calmly during appointments and he answered all of my questions. I never felt rushed. Additionally, the staff is very welcoming and they offer the latest technology in vision screening.

I felt the hardware (frames, lenses, etc.) was a bit on the pricey side. However, as a boutique, it must be hard to compete with Walmart and Costco so the shop makes up for that with exceptional customer service along with a wide selection of frames.

I was extremely happy with my experience and will return again next year for my annual exam.

 09/15/2017 BartComeHere D. Camarillo, CA

We had the best experience from them. Thier professionalism and great customer service were exceptional. Dr. Steensma was prompt and thorough in his clinical eye examination which has saved my son's eye injury. Few things to remember; great scheduling, prompt customer service, and the level of his clinical profeciency was by far excellent. If you value your eyes, go see Dr. Steensma. Highly Recommended Optometrist (HRO) + E (Eyes) = HERO

 9/14/201 Kenlyn F. Port Hueneme, CA
Second time here and had just of a good experience as the first time. Very friendly staff as well.

 8/24/2017 Jo S. Oxnard, CA
Ihad a great experience at this office! Everyone was very friendly and very helpful! I highly recommend Dr Steensma if you're looking for an ophthalmologist!

 5/23/2017 Dayna  T., Port Hueneme, CA

Our family has been going to this office for years with great customer service, starting from the beginning.. with the pleasant front desk staff to awesome Don Steensma!  We waivered and went to another  optometrist due to he was booked the week that I needed. WRONG answer!! should have waited for Steensma due to my daughter was miss diagnosed as having "strained eyes" by this other office. well, well, well... the "strained eyes" did not go away and I finally got in to see Steensma and with his comprehensive exam and special equipment we found out my daughter had keratoconus! wow serious stuff! we are now starting our treatment. Thank you Don and your staff for your consistent concern and care for your patients. This office is a no brainer for BEST in Ventura County! Thank you

 5/10/2017 Jorge G., Ventura CA

Scheduled an appointment as I was looking for a new optometrist, I was greeted with a smile and by two very nice receptionists Lily and Krystal (appointment was timely with no delay whatsoever). Dr. Ross and Lily were very knowledgeable and helpful with the testing and fitting for new contact lenses, staff was very professional. Krystal made the training for contacts very easy and comfortable, she is very easygoing and patient. Office was very professional and clean, it's a smaller office so there's no getting lost. Won't be looking for another optometrist, this office's reputation precedes them. I highly recommend you give them a try if you're looking for a new optometrist office! Thank you for the great experience.

5/1/2017 Regina C. , Oxnard, CA
Dr. Steensma and his staff are a great group. Aside from the health care of my eyes and learning, seeing and talking about my new goals to further protect my eyesight, I actually enjoyed being there. I highly recommend a visit to Dr. Steensma office if you're looking for the #1 Eye Doc in Port Hueneme.

4/1/2017 Eizabeth N., Port Hueneme, CA
Very kind and competent people working in this office. Things in my life had changed quickly. I also fell and broke prescription sunglasses. Being s "snowbird", I am in process of returning to another home in Washington State. His staff found a donated pair of frames that my lenses fit into. Dr. Steensma was walking through his office area, sat down and talked with me. I shall always remember their thoughtfulness

12/21/2016 George N Spring House, PA

Friendly and great staff!

Right when i walked in, I was greeted with smiles. The doctor quickly handled our business with a smile, and explained things very clearly and easy to understand. He truly cares for his customer!

Highly Recommended

12/14/2016 Carley J Hayward, CA
Very nice and pleasant staff. Very professional. Office was clean and good feeling. I cant stress enough how nice the ladies that work here are, They really helped me out.

11/10/2016 Geydi R. Oxnard,CA
Who knew learning about the health of your peepers could be fun?

Dr. Steensma reminds me of Dr. Oz; they make learning about your health exciting. He exudes genuine passion about his profession as well as shows true concern for your eye health.

If you can, get the CT scan for your eyes (about $30 I believe).
It was so much fun to see my eyeballs, haha. It's neat to actually see all the veins and arteries that connect to it in a 3D-like format. Thanks to all the machines and technology that was used, I feel at peace about the health of my eyes.

I didn't end up buying contacts since unfortunately my eyes are extremely dry at the moment (we're working on it) so I can't comment on the brands they offer or their prices. The glasses though, are on point. They offer the ever classic Ray Bans, Kate Spade, Coach and more! Their prices are fair and the lens warranty is even better, two years if I recall correctly? (dont quote me) I believe they also advised that if my lenses were to get scratched within the first year they could smoth the scratches out for me.

The service I received from Dr. Steensma and the lovely ladies that make up his staff was amazing; they are ready to answer any question you may have. I had a lot of fun (and no shame) taking selfies with some of the frames. The girl that assisted me (forgot to ask her name- Ooops!) was so patient and took out more frames for me to look at. Even though I took a while looking over their frame selection, I never felt pressured into buying them. In fact, Dr. Steenma had his staff correct my worn-out, low quality frames (bought them online for pennies- you get what you pay for) out of courtesy. No strings attached. That's quality service for ya!

Tip: They are ALWAYS booked so schedule in your appointment ahead of time. Totally worth the wait.

Ps I went to see another 'popular' Optometrist in the Ventura area prior to coming here and their service was very poor. Close to terrible actually.

9/20/2016 Deb M. Oxnard, CA
Just went today for my first visit to Dr.Steensma. I had heard about him from a trusted source, then again on nextdoor and checked his yelp reviews as well. I received a very thorough exam, including a wellness scan, reasonable prices (rebates on purchases of new glasses).
Could not ask for a more convenient location.
And the STAFF - all amazing - very friendly and helpful!
They also have a really great selection of frames!

8/17/2016 Martin F. Port Hueneme
This is a wonderfully caring customer-friendly office, from owner Dr. Steensma right down through his entire staff. I had some initial prescription issues, and this is where they earned my respect and loyalty. As we all know, issues can arise in any business, yet they always remained sensitive to my needs while going way above and beyond until the problem was solved. On the day I went in to pick up my finally corrected reading glasses from his staff, Dr. Steensma made it a point to personally come out to make sure I was comfortable with the solution. They do business right! Very highly recommended.

 7/29/2016 Nathaly N Backersfield, CA
Definitely had a great experience! The front desk ladies were able to process my paperwork as efficiently as possible to get me to see Dr. Ross.

Dr. Ross explained his process before checking my eyes which was very helpful to my knowledge.

Definitely great experience.

  6/7/2016 Yoshiko G., Port Hueneme, CA

I needed glasses because my eye sight got worse recently and I was scared to drive night time ( I think it's because I'm getting old...but also I was afraid if it might be a initial symptom of serious disease ) so I went to see this doctor.

The reasons I decided to try him were...
1. This place was the closest optometrist from my place.
2. Reviews were very good.
3. I could use my insurance.

As a result, I think I made a good decision. The staff and doctor were very friendly and nice.
I'm not a native speaker but didn't have any problems in whole process.

I did eye check but also did the screening they recommended.
I heard that the screening tells you in very early stage if there is something wrong with your eye, and I felt relief at knowing my eyes were ok after the screening.

They are selling some glasses but I found one at another store incidentally when I went shopping, so I asked them to write a prescription and bought the glasses at the store.

There is a parking in front of this place.

 6/2/2016 Alan P., Port Hueneme, CA
Dr. Steensma does an outstanding job of explaining everything he is doing, and never seems like he is rushing to get to the next patient. He takes whatever time is necessary and answers all of your questions thoroughly.

 6/2/2016 Megan M., Oxnard, CA
Dr. Steensma and his staff are very outgoing and wonderful. I never had a problem going to this place. All the technology they use are all very amazing and really sees if you have a problem or not with your vision. The environment is also very clean, organized, and presentable. I look forward to my next check up with them!

 5/10/2016 Warren M., Oxnard, CA
I have worn corrective lenses since I was 7 and have never had as good an experience as I did with Dr. Steensma and his staff. I broke my only pair of glasses and headed over to their office to get a replacement. Not only did Krystal get me and my wife set up with a new pair of glasses, Pearl was able to fix my broken pair! Beyond happy with their service. I can't recommend them enough.

 5/9/2016 Diane R., port Hueneme, CA
Dr. Steensma and his staff are wonderful and take excellent care of the vision needs for my husband and myself. We look forward to our annual check ups because they have the latest equipment to check our vision so we know that we'll always get the correct diagnosis while there. Great doctor, staff and all around good experience! We hope Dr. Steensma doesn't retire for ages!

 5/8/2016 Jessica S., Oxnard, CA
My husband is a patient there and he can be picky but they have a great selection of eye wear and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The guarantee on the eyewear is awesome and a great piece of mind because I have broken my glasses from Sam's Club and they did not have any type of warranty for repairs and I had to replace them.

 4/28/2016 Kassie P., Oxnard, CA

Everyone is very nice and very professional. They make sure you feel comfortable and well taken care of.

 4/24/2016 Romy R., Port Hueneme, CA
It meant a lot that both Dr. Steensma and the staff cared so much for me and my sister when we when in as first time patients. Dr. Steensma is very thorough and did a great job of explaining my overall eye health to me. The front desk staff was friendly, professional, helpful and made this first time experience great!

 4/14/2016 Jeri F, Oxnard, CA
Dr Steensma and his staf are very friendly and take care of your eye needs with confidence.

 4/10/2016 Linda K., Oxnard, CA
Friendly, efficient and always informative. Received new glasses in a very timely manner. Highly recommend for regular eye care.

 4/7/2016 Mags C., Camarillo, CA
Rooms are clean. Staff is amazing and friendly I love this place I've been to to few places before and I've never been happy! He's funny and he eats a mint before getting so close to your face lol. It might seem like a small thing but trust me there are a ton of optometrists with bad breath. He takes the time to talk to you and explain everything to you. He never rushes you and answers all of your questions. He's awesome!!! His staff is amazing and I didn't feel like I was being judged for not wearing my glasses. He preformed more tests than I've ever had before and I've been wearing glasses for my whole life!!!

 3/31/2016 Stephen B., Port Hueneme, CA
My first Visit to this optometrist, treated me like a king.
Did all the necessary treatment to my eyes and everything was perfect...just what I suspected, my eyes are bad. All the staff and Dr were very helpful and took time each person ..first visit...first impression. It was good. Thanks will be back

 3/30/2016 Madalon L., Ventura, CA
Wonderful staff and Dr Steenma is caring and thorough. I'm so glad that I found this office. They go beyond to help choosing and being fit for glasses.

 3/29/2016 Arianne S., Port Hueneme, CA
Great service! Friendly staff as always! Love talking to them and making jokes. Very clean, patient, they take there time in helping each and every person. Love coming here!

 3/25/2016 Kathy C., Oxnard, CA
Really enjoy my visits with Dr. Steensma. I have been going to him for many years. When I first started working for the City of Oxnard, I needed to find a vision doctor and a former patient of his highly recommended him. She had nothing but great things to say about him. He is very professional and always explains everything to you and makes sure you understand everything. His staff is very friendly and very helpful. Couldn't ask for a better place to take care of your vision needs.

 3/25/2016 Junior H., Oxnard, CA
All workers were very kind and helpful. I just left the place and it was wonderful experience. It really helped my grandpa. Thank you

 3/2/2016 Sarah V. , Port Hueneme, CA

The staff and doctors at this office are always very pleasant and efficient, you never have to wait long before your seen. They take time with each patient ensuring you don't feel rushed. I also appreciate the follow up reminders for my appointments. Thank you!

 2/29/2016 Paul D., Wesdtlake, CA
As an ophthalmologist, I have worked with Dr. Steensma for over 20 years caring for patients together. He is one of the most talented optometrists that I have ever worked with, both in terms of his professional expertise as well as the customer service that he provides. The patients that we share are uniformly happy with his service in providing general eye exams, glasses and contacts as well as post-surgical care for LASIK and cataract surgery. I highly recommend Dr. Steensma and his practice

 2/26/2016 Jorge Z., Oxnard, CA
Great service! Definitely looking forward to coming back!! I highly recommend Dr. Steensma and his staff!!!

 1/11/2016 Marcarius R., Oxnard, CA
I was very impressed by Dr. Steensma. This was the first eye exam of my adult life and I wasn't really sure what to expect. Firstly, Dr. Steensma and his office staff are very personable and friendly. More importantly, I felt confident that the eye exam he gave me was thorough and up to date with the most current diagnostic tools. He has a new tool that can look through the layers of the eye, which can reportedly predict disease and dysfunction far earlier than traditional tests. He also gave me an additional non-standard test to check my corneas because of my family's medical history, making sure I wasn't showing signs of similar problems. Overall, I was looking for a comprehensive check of my eye health and feel like I got it.

 1/4/2016 Christina S., Oxnard, CA

Such a wonderful and friendly staff. The office is clean, warm and very welcoming. My children and I were immediately greeted by the staff and Dr. Steensma. We are a military family and it is always nerve wracking when we have to move and experience a new doctor and staff. Dr. Steensma and his staff made us feel at home. They are incredibly thorough and attentive to anything we needed. Dr. Steensma was patient and kind with explaining what he was doing and explaining my children's health care, to not only me but to them as well, which I appreciated tremendously. You can truly feel how much Dr. Steensma cares for his patients. He has a true passion for eye health care and it shows. Thank you!

 1/3/2016 Candy V., Oxnard, Ca
Wow, if everysingle place i'd go to had this customer service, I swear id be getting close to heaven. They are amazing! The girl at the front desk with color eyes is the last person I dealt with about 2 wks ago. She was super friendly. May 2015 was my first visit with Dr Steensma I had been going to another optometrist for all my life and by that I mean since I was 8 years old. My husband kept insisting that I should go to this office because Dr. Steensma would explain everything in detail unlike my childhood Doc. ( See I had my husband go to my Doc once and he hated it) So we are now both attending Dr Steensma's office. It amazed me that last year for my first visit Doc said he had not seen me before and ask how I ended there I told him it was my husband's recommendation, he asked who my husband was? I told him and he remembered him to the teeth! Wow talk about detail. This will for ever be my optometrist office. I can not emphasize enough how awesome and throurough all the staff is. Thank you for a wonderful experience I look forward to my 2016 visit.

 1/11/2016 Marcarius R., Oxnard, CA
I was very impressed by Dr. Steensma. This was the first eye exam of my adult life and I wasn't really sure what to expect. Firstly, Dr. Steensma and his office staff are very personable and friendly. More importantly, I felt confident that the eye exam he gave me was thorough and up to date with the most current diagnostic tools. He has a new tool that can look through the layers of the eye, which can reportedly predict disease and dysfunction far earlier than traditional tests. He also gave me an additional non-standard test to check my corneas because of my family's medical history, making sure I wasn't showing signs of similar problems. Overall, I was looking for a comprehensive check of my eye health and feel like I got it.

 12/23/2015 Ayded R., Oxnard, CA

The staff is so welcoming and helpful to any questions that we may have. I've been going here since I was 8/9 and I'm always satisfied. Dr. Don Steensma has also shown to be able to work with kids. I took my little sister and she didn't seem to be scared to work with all the machines. I would really recommend it.

 12/3/2015 Nina F., Port Hueneme, CA

New to area and feel so fortunate I found Dr. Steensma and his staff. Everyone was great and thorough. Everything was explained and I was treated so wonderful. I learned more about my macular degeneration in this visit than I have in 3 years since I was diagnosed.

 11/18/2015 Juan B., Oxnard, CA
I got to say I always enjoy visiting Monica and Crystal. They're the best. Just had my yearly check up and it went good. Best staff and Doctors in town.

 11/13/15 Annette B. Oxnard, CA
So very thorough, from the staff to Dr. Steensma himself! Once again, when I leave the office, I feel I have had the best care for my eyes. No concern goes unanswered by Dr. Steensma. I continue to recommend him.

 11/12/2015 Dan Z., Oxnard, CA
Why are Dr. Steensma's patients and staff always happy? He has a competent and well informed staff. This resonates throughout your visit, there friendly and THOUGHTFUL. The exams are thoroughl and well explained. I highly recommend Dr. Steensma, you won't leave disappointed.

 11/11/15 Isabel C. Poprt Hueneme, CA
Very impressed! Friendly staff, clean office and Dr Steensman is incredibly welcoming. My first visit there and I plan on bringing my whole family to be seen by this amazing team of professionals. Very thorough with my eye exam and explained everything in detail. Thank you!

 10/29/2015 K.M. Port Hueneme, CA

I really very much enjoyed meeting with Dr. Steensma for my appointment recently. He is very friendly and charismatic, and didn't hesitate to ask me if I had any questions throughout my visit. He came across as very knowledgeable about his trade, and he gets bonus points from my family for also having been in the military. I was very pleased with my visit. His staff even fixed the problem with my glasses- to which I didn't know could be done. You'd be treated well at this Optometry clinic. A+ :)

 10/28/2015 Stan A. Port Hueneme, CA

Once again, great service. Esp Dawn. Adjusted frames once, haven't had to fiddle with them in over 12 hours.

 10/14/2015 Lawrence G. Fort Worth, TX
Saw Dr. Ross for an eye checkup, was in & out without waiting for ever like most doctor offices. Staff is outstanding and I highly recommend this place if you need glasses or just a checkup. Thanks Dr. Ross...

 10/14/2015 D.G. Port Hueneme, CA
Dr. Steensma and his staff got this busy mom in an out quickly and were friendly and professional. Thank you!

 10/10/2015 Leslie F. Oxnard, CA

A delightful and effective experience! Friendliness, warmth, attention, and good humor from Dr. Steensma, Monica, and all the staff. A collaborative professional atmosphere. Dr. Steensma was willing to work with me, to listen, to take my own preferences into account, and to offer his honest professional guidance.

 10/7/2015 BS Oxnard, CA

Dr. Steensma and his entire staff (his precious gemstones) made my office visit so comfortable - each and everyone I came in contact with was patient, friendly and extremely knowledgeable. Even though I wasn't the only person there I was treated as if I was!
Even better - it's a "one stop shop" - if you are like me time is precious and rare -- after my eye exam I was able to shop for prescription sunglasses and reading glasses with their great selection of frames.just steps outside my exam room !
I will close by saying this is the first time I left a doctor's appointment not only with a smile on my face and money in my pocket but I am actually looking forward to next year's appointment!

10/6/2015 Carmen G. Port Hueneme, CA

El Dr. Steensma y su personal han sido nuestro Optometrista durante 26 años!! Sus estudios se completa y cuando es hora de nuevos lentes su personal sale de sus manera de ayudarle a escoger el mejor marcos para que se ajuste a sus deseos y necesidades. Nunca he ido a otro optómetra porque el Dr. Steensma y a su personal que GENIAL! Gracias Dr. Steensma y personal para todo lo que tiene que hacer y se han hecho a lo largo de los años.

 10/2/2015 Dora R. Port Hueneme, CA

Dr. Steensma and his staff are great. It's nice to walk in to a doctor's office and see the doctor welcome you along side his staff! He takes his time to explain and make sure you understand everything that's going on in your appointment and you never feel like you're being rushed through it. He's always a pleasure.

 10/2/2015 Roger W. Oxnard, CA
Dr. Steensma and his staff cover everything you wanted to know about your eyes. They ensure you understand all test results, your new glasses fit properly and always give you a warm welcome upon entering the office. I'm glad I was referred to this office.

 9/20/2015 Vero R. Oxnard, CA
Dr is great the staff is wonderful and friendly my visit was great the Dr is great and professional explains everything and anything in a way anyone can understand so caring and considerate of the needs of the patients will recommend him to family and friends.

9/8/2015 Craig M. Ventura, CA

I was extremely impressed by my first visit. The examination seemed more thorough than any I've ever had.  Dr. Steensma took the time to educate me on what the results meant.  The staff were equally friendly and helpful in administering some of the test and helping find just the right set of frames.  I had the final appointment that day, and I really appreciated their patience and professionalism despite running a bit over normal hours.  I would recommend Dr. Steensma to anyone looking for a first-rate optometry office.

 9/5/2015 Shauna N. Port Hueneme, CA

Dr. Steensma and his staff are caring, knowledgable and experienced. Definitely go with him if you're in the market for a new eye doctor. Heck, leave your current eye doctor just to go with him anyway! Best eye appointment experience ever!

 9/3/15 Renee M. Port Hueneme, CA
I really appreciated the staff here. Everyone was friendly and patient. My young daughter was a bit wiggly trying to run tests, but they were very accommodating. Dr. Ross spent a lot of time making sure he had an accurate assessment for her prescription. I would recommend this office to anyone. The only thing is, they don't carry children's glasses in the office, but they are willing to order them from a catalog.

 8/29/2015 Ida M Port Hueneme, Ca

Me and my brother had a great experience there every one was nice. Love my new glasses. Thanks Monica for helping me.

 8/28/2015 Karen B Oxnard, CA
I have been going to Dr. Steensma for the last 4 years, and I think he is extremely knowledgeable, thorough, friendly and over all Fantastic!! His staff are very professional, friendly and willing to help. My appointment was on time, I found the perfect glasses for myself and the price was right!! Thank you Dr. Steensma and staff for providing me with such high quality professional service.

 8/25/2015 Angela B  Oxnard, CA
Dr. Steensma and team does a fantastic job of keeping my eyes in great working order. I am a bike rider and seems to get the my glasses out of whack. I usually can be seen in a quick manner to adjust and be on my way. They are always happy to see you ! They make it easier having things set up for annual checkup and what my eyes need to stay healthy. I just follow their directions. It's nice to be cared for! Thanks so much!
Angela

 8/25/2015 Judith H Ojai, CA
I moved to Ojai years ago and I have tried other offices near me. I was disappointed and will continue to drive from Ojai to Port Hueneme to see Dr. Steensma. I trust him and appreciate how he takes the time to explain whats going on with your eyes in a language anyone can understand. His staff is friendly yet very professional. Thank you for your years of care.

  8/25/2015 Gigi S Bakersfield, CA
We were visiting from out of town, and my dad (90 years old!) lost a screw from his prescription sunglasses. That particular screw had come loose before, and he had gone to his own optometrist in our home town, who totally stripped the screw and mangled the screw top so it just COULD NOT be fixed. Dr. Steensma's staff came up with a solution, fixed it perfectly, and didn't even charge us! This is a wonderful staff, and they will work until the problem is solved.

 7/24/15 Arlene B Newberry Park, CA

I have been going to Dr. Steemsma for over 30 years.  Always outstanding and personalized service from Dr. Steensma and his staff.  Monica was especially helpful my last visit, she assisted me in getting replacement contact lenses for my updated prescription and helping me to select new frames.  Thanks Monica!

 7/10/2015 Ceron J Oxnard, CA
I just have to give DR.Steensma and staff a 5 Star their are professional kind quick service making you feel comfortable! Dr.Steensma explains every procedure something other Dr won't do ! I highly recommend to come here !

 7/7/2015 Andrew W. San Diego, CA

Awesome and Nice, Dr was real nice with our 10 year old. He answered all questions and was very patient.

 7/2/2015 Arthur S., Camarillo, CA

Dr steensma is awesome they have a great office staff also! They are very professional.

 7/2/15 Jonathan M Port Hueneme, CA
I had such a great experience here. Everyone was very kind and polite. The Dr was really funny but professional. His picture of him running a marathon at 53 inspired me to keep running and bettering myself. Overall this has to be one of the best places to go. Would highly recommend this location to everyone. Such a cool optometrist.

 6/30/15 Samantha H Port Hueneme, CA
Staff and Dr are very helpful and they were great with my kids. They were very receptive to my scheduling needs. Very family friendly and the Dr has a great "bedside" manor.

  6/29/2015 Tara J., Oxnard, CA

I hadn't been to an optometrist for a few years before I visited Dr. Steensma. As soon as I walked into his office, he and his staff were incredibly welcoming, helpful and informative. They were thorough with their explanations and made me feel totally comfortable throughout my visit. Would recommend 100%!

 6/16/2015 Cynthia B., Oxnard, CA

Very satisfied with my visit and the staff. They earned their five stars. ..when i arrived to the office i signed in and was called right away. I was happy that i didn't have top wait as the officE emptied out and then my name was called. The Dr.explained and answered my questions before leaving the office.

 6/12/2015 Devyn D. Fort Meade, MD

Dr. Steensma and his staff are absolutely wonderful! I had my first visit with them yesterday, and had to take both of my children. They were so great and even helped me feed my daughter while Dr. Steensma gave me my eye exam! I absolutely recommend them if you need an eye exam or eye glasses!

 6/7/2015 Grace B. Oxnard, CA
My daughter goes here to get glasses, maybe contacts in the future (crossing my fingers) , to get her eyes checked or glasses repaired.  The staff here is friendly, welcoming and understanding. They are willing to help or answer any question you may have. Dr. Steensma is quirky, funny and makes you feel at home when your visiting. He often comes out from the back room to say hello and chat with the patrons waiting to be serviced.

6/4/2015  Johnny R. Oxnard, Ca

To sum it all, Dr. Steensma is the best! I have been one of his many patients for at least forty years, my family have all been seen by him and they all really like him. His staff are always friendly and helpful very efficient. I spoke with Dawn who helped me select a new pair of glass, Pearl who kept me updated on my replacement glasses and Ida who took very good care of me. Great staff. Finally Dr. Steensma congratulations for being the best optometrist in the Ventura County.


6/3/2015 Letty M. Oxnard, CA
Dr steensma is such a nice doctor an all his staff also i reallly like this place.. I never new of them till i google it an it came out that his one of the best doctors an he is....ther really professional my first time ther an i rlly like it defntly gonna choose dr steensma as my eye dr

 5/26/15 Roger W. Oxnard, CA
I have been going to Dr. Steensma for several years. He is a quality OD. He and his staff are very thorough, knowledgeable, and friendly. I'm very happy with him and his staff and recommend his office for your eye care.
Report review

 5/21/15 Debe B.Oxnard, CA

My first visit at Dr. Steensma office was greeted by an incredibly friendly, confident and happy staff.  Dr. Ross was my examining doctor; he was clear and concise in telling me what he saw in my eyes and made me feel very relaxed and comfortable.  I actually had a fun time in the office, so much so that I've already shared Dr. Steensma information with several friends & family!

 5/14/15 Kellie L. Oxnard, CA

This review is in regards to my experience shadowing Dr. Steensma. Not only was he professional and personable with his patients he was also very welcoming towards me encouraging me to ask questions and be engaged. I have shadowed 4 other doctors and I can say with confidence that my shadowing experience with him was my best. His staff was very friendly and knowledgable as well!
Thank you for having me!!

 5/12/2015 Johnny R.Oxnard, CA

Dr. Steensma, has cared for my eyes for close to 50 years, that alone should tell one that he is very good at what he does. He is very professional and efficient. Waiting to see doctor and/or the entire exam does not take very long, he explains every thing he is doing through out the exam. Always has a friendly word for you and takes time to listen to you. His staff is always friendly and professional. We had the pleasure of speaking with Pearl and she really is one. Assisted me selecting a new pair of glasses and it was a joy to speak with her.

 5/9/15 Elaine P. Oxnard, CA
Want great service and a staff that care. Come to Dr Steensma, I have been seeing him for over 20 years. He and his staff are great.

 5/9/15 Ken J  Ventura, CA
Ken and Susan have excellent service every time we go in for eye care. The
staff is efficient and cheerful. Dr. Steensma is always sincere and thorough
with treatment. We are glad we can depend on Dr. Steensma for help with
any eye problems.

 4/23/15 Amanda S.  Oxnard, CA

I was a new patient and felt so very welcomed! The ladies at the front desk are so helpful & nice. My exam and everything probably took about 30 minutes and I barely waited a few minutes until my exam started. One of the ladies helping me with the exam even cleaned and tightened the old glasses I was wearing. Dr. Steensma was also very nice & funny! I felt so comfortable there talking to him, probably the best optometrist I've ever been to. I picked out the glasses I wanted and got them in about 3 weeks (I have medi-cal so it takes a little longer) but they called right away. I picked them up and they helped with adjusting them so they fit just right. I would definitely recommend this office

 04/23/2015 Kristina O.  Port Hueneme, CA
I had a lovely experience at this office today. The front desk staff were very professional, friendly, and courteous. I saw Dr. Ross for my appointment, and he talked me through the situation with my contact prescriptions and even saved me some money! I really appreciated that he took the time to explain the health of my eyes and informed me about the symptoms of a condition I could be at risk for. Overall I could tell that they not only care about my eye health, but also my wellbeing as a patient. Thank you!

 4/20/2015 Kathy M. Oxnard, CA

Dr Steensma and the entire staff is very friendly and helpful. Every time I go into the office I feel very welcomed. They entire office staff goes out of their way to be helpful.

Great experience. I would recommend this business to anyone looking for a friendly and quality eye doctor.

 4/10/2015 Samantha J. Thousand Oaks, CA

Dr. Steensma and the entire staff were very friendly and welcoming. They were thorough, professional, and efficient. Dr. Steensma is very knowledgable and does a wonderful job explaining everything to you as the patient. He makes everything clear and easy to understand. I would recommend this business to anyone looking for a friendly and quality eye doctor.

The office is easy to find and I did not have to wait at all to be seen once my paperwork was filled out. I was able to make a last minute appointment easily and find a time that worked for my busy schedule.

 4/9/2015 Lupe B.Port Hueneme, CA
My family and I have been patients of Dr. Steensma since we were young, we love him and his staff is super helpful and patient.
Flag review

3/9/2015 Rose W. Oxnard, CA

They are so helpful and have great customer service. There is not a long wait to see the eye doctor and the staff is very friendly. I would highly recommend them!

1/29/2015 Jennifer J. Oxnard, CA

I was a new patient and they got me in right away. Awesome staff and the doctor was very attentive!

1/28/2015 Shawn C. Oxnard, CA

I have been going to Dr. Steensma for over 20 years. I appreciate the helpfulness of the staff as well as the personal attention from Dr. Steensma. I would highly recommend this office for all your vision care needs.

1/16/2015 Julianna D. Port Hueneme, CA

This place is amazing! I used to go to Channel Islands Optometric Center, but they aren't nearly as friendly or dedicated as everyone in the office of Don K. Steensma! I have completely changed ship and I am happy to do so! The ladies in the front desk are SO NICE and helpful! They were able to squeeze me in right away. I told the Dr. and everyone my problem with my eye and they were on top of it right away giving me some trials and suggestions to fixing it and even scheduled me in immediately so I can get my problem resolved! Dr. Steensma is very friendly and professional and you can tell he genuinely cares for his patients. I recommend this place for anyone and everyone! Everyone is helpful and attentive! Thanks again!

1/9/2015 Michlene S. Port Hueneme, CA

Dr. Steensma makes sure to address any concerns you may have during your visit! The office staff work very well with you on payments and scheduling! When I started with Dr. Steensma I paid out of pocket (didn't take the insurance I had at the time) because I enjoyed him that much :-) Give him a try and you will see he is the best!

 1/2/2015 John G. Port Hueneme, CA

Ive been going to Dr. Steensma for the past 5 years. He is very thorough, has a great personality and it's obvious he really cares about his patients. All of his staff are fantastic was well. I like funky styles/colors in frames & Dawn goes out of her way to try and find the most interesting frames from me to choose from! Great experiences all around!

12/29/2014 Noemi Oxnard, CA

Friendly customer service. Great environment and good eye exam experience. Have been going here for years and will continue to recommend to family and friends!

12/22/2014 Updated review Lisa G. Oxnard, CA

Fabulous doctor fabulous staff!!! Very efficient and courteous . Won't be disappointed! A must SEE:)

12/18/2014 Updated review Jeff N Oxnard, CA

I have been a patient of Dr. Steensma since moving to Southern Cal last year and have really been impressed with his interest, and the quality of care he provides. His staff is super friendly and make me feel very comfortable when I come in for an exam.

12/4/2014 Nancy B. Oxnard, CA

I have never experienced such a helpful and friendly staff as Dr. Steensma's! I came in to order new frames and lenses after Cateract surgery, Dr. Steensma introduced himself and welcomed me to the office.I had some problems with making a choice as to what new frames I wanted, Pearl never made me feel rushed even after I changed my mind more than once.What a great experience!!!

12/4/2014 Margie G. Oxnard, CA

Dr. Steensma and his staff are awesome. Very caring and professional practice. Thank You. :)

12/1/2014 Serg A. Port Hueneme, CA

Have been seeing Dr. Steensma for years, I highly recommend him. Would not go anywhere else for my optical needs. Great staff and very friendly environment.

11/23/14 Savage D. Chandler, AZ

Odd. The entire staff is as dedicated as Dr. Steensma himself. They were extremely helpful last year picking out the perfect frames and lenses. Then this year they all worked together to quickly replace them after I broke them in an accident. It's odd because I have never seen this kind of teamwork in any type of optometrist or clinic of any sort. Last week I had my follow up appointment. I got a text reminding me a week prior, then again the day before. A staff member even called to confirm when I didn't respond right away. The visit itself was quick and included all the checks I am accustomed too. At the end my vision was deemed marginally worse but not enough to require new lenses. I appreciate that. In fact I appreciated the entire experience. Enough to want to share it here.

 11/19/2014 Beverly W. Oxnard, CA

Just had an eye exam done by DR Steensma ,very clean office and a very friendly knowledgeable staff ,very thorough job thank you ,,,5 STARS FOR SURE !!!!

  11/18/2014 Gloria R. Oxnard, CA

Great friendly staff. Dr. Steensma is very knowledgeable with great sense of humor. The place feels cozy as well.

 11/7/2014  Anna A. Oxnard, CA

The best experience I've ever had at an optometrist. I mainly choose Dr. Steensma's optometry because of its location being near my house and I've always gone to places like LensCrafters. I was very happy to see that this office has great choices in frames and new technology in the office. I love that this office can give you text message updates, cause I really don't want to talk of the phone. I highly recommend Dr. Steensma and I will be back for my next checkup

 11/6/14 Aleen R. Camarillo, CA

I recently relocated back to California after 22yrs in Seattle, WA. I took my 90yr old mother to Dr. Steensma, and I must say he and his staff were so accommodating and patient with her. I will definitely be continuing with them as her provider, and will also avail myself of their service for myself..

11/4/2014 Luis C. Oxnard CA

I just went to Dr.'s Steensma for the first time and was very happy with the entire staff for the courtesy and the detailed examination of my vision and eyes. I will make this office my regular site for future optical exams and glasses from now on. 

 11/4/2014 Sandra A. Port Hueneme, CA

Love coming here!! I started coming here last year and I will not ever go anywhere else. The service is outstanding and Dr. Steensma is very friendly and great doctor overall. The office staff is on top of their customer service, Crystal especially, she always follows up on all my needs and questions!  The place is is super clean and they have great equipment to work with. I also love the fact that I can stop by anytime for adjustments on our glasses:)  This place is the best eye doctor office in Ventura County!!

10/20/2014 Laura F. Oxnard, CA

First off, I want to say wow!!

Second, I just want to mention the amount of respect and attentiveness the staff and dr. S had. I'm 19 and they actually treated me like an adult. They were sweet to my 3 month old son as well. The amount of personality that just shoots out of each staff member is incredible. They were sweet and honest about the frames that look good on my face and they explained how things worked. The staff was super bubbly and had a great sense of humor! I felt comfortable as soon as I walked in the door! I loved the dr. He greeted me as soon as he saw me and he was super nice to me which I loved. He had a calm and relaxing Essence to him! I would recommend this office to anyone. Very clean office as well!!

10/3/2014 Annie H. Ventura, Ca

Great office..friendly staff...and knowledgeable Doctor!! I recommended Dr. Steensma to anyone looking for a caring office that will help you find what is right for you!

9/28/2014 Ruben M. Oxnard, CA

"Impeccable", "Attentive" & "Courteous" are just a few words that describe Dr. Steensma's office and his staff of professionals. Last year I finally had my eye exam after many years of not having a automatic scheduled appointment (military) & words really can't explain how good Dr. Steensma & his staff are, you'll have to make an appointment & experience it for yourselves & let me tell you, you will not be disappointed. I had my yearly check up today (26 Sep 14) & again, it was perfect. Great job to Dr Steensma & his staff of professionals, keep up the great work & see you all next year!!

9/19/2014 Anna O. Thousand Oaks, CA

Doctor Steensma is the best and his staff is wonderful. There are many places closer to where I now live but I still make the trip to the office, it's worth it!

9/18/2014 Alma C. Oxnard, CA

I LOVE LOVE this place!. The staff is great and Dr. Steensma is awesome. Everyone is very friendly and professional. My 8 year old son loves to go to his eye appointments, everyone in the office makes him feel so comfortable. Dr. Steensma explains everything very well and he takes his time. You never feel rushed and you can ask as many questions.

9/16/2014 Amber  D. Oxnard, CA

I have always received great service from everyone at Dr Steensma's office. Dr Steensma himself is great! Very thorough and personable. He even took the time to answer my off the wall questions and explained everything all the way through. I feel well taken care of and would highly recommend this office!

9/16/2014 John O. Santa Paula, CA

Dr Steensma and his staff are the best and only place to go for my eye care.I give them 10 stars

9/92014 Deborah W. Oxnard, CA

Dr Don and his staff are wonderful. Everyone is very friendly and take time from their day to make sure you are given all the attention you need. Dr. Don explains your diagnosis in language everyone can understand. Our family has been seeing ;) Dr. Don for many years and we hope to for years to come!

9/2/2014 Roger W. Oxnard, CA

The office staff are friendly and very helpful with providing all the procedures and tests, as well as the fitting of new frames. Dr. Steensma explained all the test results and informed me of the overall health of my eyes in language you can understand. I recommend Dr. Steensma and his staff for all your optical needs.

9/2/2014 Joseph C. Oxnard, CA

Dr Steensma is the best. He makes each of his patient's feel special. I am a physician and I know a good caring clinician when I see one. I am very comfortable with Dr Steensma's professional expertise. I recommend him and his wonderful staff very highly without reservation. I wouldn't go anywhere else.

9/2/14 Douglas G. Oxnard, CA

I needed a quick repair on my prescription sunglasses before a sailing lesson. Crystal fixed me right up and at NO CHARGE!

8/11/2014 Don B. Ventura, CA

My family and I have been receiving vision care with Dr. Steensma for 10 years now. We always receive expert care, not only from Dr. Don, but also from his fantastic staff. We would never even consider going elsewhere, even though we live in a different city now. Thank you!!!

8/11/2014 Brittany B. Port Hueneme, CA

One of the best medical offices I've been to here in Ventura County.

The staff is extremely friendly, professional and knowledgeable.

Dr. Steensma is so helpful and really explained things to me and made sure I understood.

If you're looking for an optometrist, this is the place you want to go!

8/7/2014 Danny Z. Oxnard, CA

Dr. Steensma's continues to keep up with state of the art technology. His deep concern and thoughtless for patient care is commendable. This resonates thought out his office. His staff is is one of the most professional office I've ever seen!

7//30/2014 Jill S. Carpinteria, CA

I have been seen by Dr. Steensma for the past 20+ years. He is very knowledgeable and thorough in his eye exams. Dr. Steensma and his staff are very professional, friendly, and helpful. When I had my first ocular migraine Dr. Steensma saw me right away to rule out anything more serious. I highly recommend Dr. Steensma.

7/30/2014 Teri W. Port Hueneme, CA

I've been a patient for many years. I'm always treated with kindness and professionalism.

7/25/2014 Christine B. Port Hueneme, CA

I was a first time patient because of the reviews I decided to make my appointment. I was not disappointed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Dr Steensma was more than patient in covering all aspects of my visit. They were backed up because of an earlier emergency but I did not feel as if I was being rushed through.

7/9/2014 Mike F.  Port Hueneme, CA

Fair prices and a very experienced and sincere staff! Dr Don has a vast knowledge and is very experienced. They make you feel like family and they do a great job ! The atmosphere in their office is awesome!

7/3/2014 Linnea V. Ventura County

I am so pleased to have Dr. Steensma as my eye doctor.  He is thorough, patient, professional and very personable.  I really enjoy his staff too.  They are so friendly and helpful.  I feel right at home when I come for my eye exams and I had a blast picking out new frames.  If you are looking for great eye care, I highly recommend Dr. Steensma!

6/25/12 Sully V. Oxnard, CA

No hassles or bad attitudes not like my previous eye specialist office, which led me to look for another eye Dr.  This was the best , most thorough, kindest and most professional practice.  Front office staff, back office assistants and Dr. Steensma , Thank You for the pleasant experience. I cannot recommend him highly enough!

6/23/14 felicity h. Port Hueneme, CA

Staff is very friendly and knowledgable. Clean office, plus! Not a long wait, very efficient. Dr Steensma is informative and very knowledgable. I've been seeing Dr now since last year and I'm very pleased!

6/19/14 Trianna C. Oxnard, CA

Dr. Steensma is great and the staff is so helpful and personable!!!! I love the quality of the service and how accommodating they are. Thank you so much.

6/11/14 Arlene B. Newbury Park, CA

I have been going to Dr. Steensma for over 30 years. He and his staff are so helpful and friendly. He truly loves his job and I feel valued as a patient. He must have hundreds of patients, but he makes you feel that you are his only one. They accept VSP coverage so my entire visit is covered except for a minimal amount. Highly recommend Dr. Steensma to anyone who is looking for a good optometrist.

6/10/2014 Dalis S. Fairfield, CA

Best visit EVER! Helpful staff excellent Dr! I got my eyes checked, my glasses ordered and without a doubt the most help picking out frames I've ever had! I truly feel like a valued friend not just another customer! Can't wait to pay a pic of me in my new transitions lenses!

06/04/14  Sharon D. Port Hueneme, CA

I've been going to Dr. Steensma for over 11 years and he literally saved my eyesight. In 2012 during an exam, he noticed swelling behind my right eye that was pressing on the optic nerve along with ruptured vessels. Fearing a tumor, he sent me to the hospital emergency room with a note detailing what he saw. Many tests later, I was given medication to reduce swelling. All is well now but Dr. Steensma's quick action and knowledge averted what could have been a medical disaster for me.

His office staff is also friendly and skilled, (special kudos to Dawn--she's fantastic and can do it all). And Dr. Steensma himself is just an over-all nice guy. My glasses are always delivered in a timely fashion with never a glitch.

An excellent optometrist and staff. Highly recommended.

05/14/14 Johnny R. Oxnard, CA

I've been Doctor Steensma patient for a couple of decades and never once did I find fault with him or his staff. They are all professional and efficient. Always has a smile and a kind word for his patient. I would recommend their services to anyone.

05/12/14 Katrina H. Port Hueneme, CA

Everyone is super friendly and helpful. Love going to see Dr steensma.

5/11/2014 Mary B. Oxnard, CA

Friendly staff, excellent service. Thorough exam. Nice selection of frames to choose from

05/08/2014 Mary B. Oxnard, CA

Dr. Steensma and his staff are always helpful and friendly. Nice atmosphere and good service.. Thanks

05/05/2014 Alex M. Oxnard, CA

I always have a great experience when I go for my yearly eye exams with Dr. Steensma, but this time they made me feel extra special. There was a misunderstanding with the scheduling of my appointment. When I went it was to late for Dr. Steensma to  see me because he was already heading out. I told him I go to school and I am not able to go earlier for an appointment, so Dr. Steensma took time out of his time off to do my exam and save me from having to return another day. I was extremely grateful that he did that for me. It comes to show that they really care about their patients and are willing to accommodate any situation that comes up. I recommend this office to anyone who is looking for great service and customer appreciation. The staff and Dr. Steensma will definitely make you feel at home.

4/22/2014 Richell B, San Diego, CA

I had a great experience at Dr. Steensma's office. I was able to schedule an appointment within a week and they accept Medi-Cal VSP. I felt very welcomed and they willingly answered all my questions enthusiastically and competently. The entire staff and Dr. Steensma are a friendly bunch and I highly recommend their services.

3/06/2014 Rosa M, Oxnard, CA

El Dr. Steensma y su personal son muy servicial y amables con sus pacientes. Cada que voy a mis chequeos me ofrecen un buen servicio. Siempre que tengo una cita se que me rebiciran con una sonrisa y con un buen cuidado. Si esta buscando un doctor que se preocupa por el bienestar de sus ojos yo le recomiendo al Dr. Steernsma para su chequeo de ojos.

4/05/2014 Jackie M, Port hueneme, CA

Thank you Dr. Steensma for the excellent eye care I received at your office.  So happy my mom switched me over to your office.  Fast and friendly service.  Andrea 13yrs.

4/04/2014 Jovany M, Oxnard, CA

I strongly recommend Dr. Steensma for an eye exam. I had a great experience with the procedure and with my results. He takes his time to explain the procedure of the exam. His staff are nice, friendly, and have lots of patience. They truly make your experience feel very welcoming and pleasent.

3/28/2014 Rebecca A. Port Hueneme, CA

Really enjoyed my visit, its lke going to visit family. Thank you my for taking care of my eyes.

3/26/2014 Suz-Anne S. Port Hueneme, CA

I was introduced to this office from one of my customers, Dawne.  We already had our exams at Kaiser and came in here for some glasses.  We never had to wait long before someone was asking what we needed.  When we told them what we needed, we never had to wait long to get it.  I noticed the Dr. is very involved in the speediness of the office and is very nice to the staff.  We had only been there a few times before they know who we were.  My sons glasses came in very fast and they notified me as soon as they were in.  I went there probably 6 times to try on different frames and they were very nice to order optional colors so I could actually see them on my face.  I finally decided what to order and I liked their 50% off a second pair because I am finally getting some prescription sunglasses.  Thank you to everyone!  Highly recommended!

3/18/2014  Ken J. Port hueneme, CA

Dr. Steensma is the best, we are new patients and we both are going to be going to him

The hospitality and the professional manner he and his staff work with the patients. My wife is now his patient and will remain his patient. I am currently seeing a VA doctor,which I am going to change to Dr. Steensma.

3/3/2014 Sarah O. Oxnard, CA

I have been a patient of Dr. Steensma since I was in elementary school. I am now 25 years old and I continue to see him every year. The reason that I have been a repeated client is because he is very professional, knowledgeable and personable. Dr. Steensma will take the time and sit down and explain what is going on, that way you are not left in the dark and you know what precautions to take. I strongly recommend Dr. Steensma to anyone who is looking for an eye doctor that is reasonable in cost and very knowledgeable. Dr. Steensma has a great supporting staff as well, which makes each visit pleasant. I will continue to be a patient of Dr. Steensma because he is always there when I need him.

Thank you for your services!

Sarah Ortega

2/28/2014 Rene N. Oxnard, CA

I was going to give Dr.Steensma's office 4 stars because they didnt include a cleaning cloth but the they won me over with all the extensive testing and helpful employees, Dr.Steensma also gave me a free sample bottle of lubricant eye drops.

2/18/2014 Ron G. Port Hueneme, CA

The DMV recommended my son to go see an eye doctor in order to have a drivers license. I saw the many great reviews on Dr. Steensma and decided to give him call. When my son and I arrived  at our appointment day and time, we were very welcome with a friendly and patient staff. Dr. Steensma is very knowledgable and good with people. The rates are reasonable and the service is great.

2/13/2014 Kathy M. Oxnard, CA

I have been going to this Doctor since 2003.He really gets to know you as a person not just another eye........ Great Doc great staff. Always helpful.

1/31/2014 Henry V. Port Hueneme, CA

I have been going to Dr. Steensma for about 10 years now. He is really good with all of his patients. Most of the time he comes out and greets you right when you walk in. The staff members are always very nice and helpful.

12/29/13 Juan B Oxnard, CA

I would really like to thank Monica & Crystal for the patients they had with my visit. Thank you so much.

12/19/2013 Jeff N. Oxnard, CA

We recently moved to Oxnard and this was my first visit to Dr. Steensma's office.  It could not have gone better as I was treated well from the moment I arrived until the moment I left. Dr. Steensma used his state of the art equipment to examine me and Dawne helped me select new glasses and took care of all of my forms and the entire staff was extremely courteous

I will definitely recommend Dr. Steensma to my neighbors.

12/14/2013 Isabella S. Oxnard, CA

I just had my yearly eye exam with Dr. Don Steensma, as always he gives the most through exam I've  ever experienced. Dr. Don takes the time to really get to know his patients so it feels like going to an old friend when its time to renew glasses. Dr. Steenema  and his entire staff listen and answer all questions or concerns I may have pertaining to my vision needs. They are all professional, understanding, friendly and kind. Pearl and Dawn have always done their best to make my new glasses affordable for me.  I just received my new prescription  glasses and I can see so much clearer and I just love the look of my new frames.

My 93 year old mother also sees Dr. Steensma for her vision needs, she is hard to please and confused at times, but she also recommends Dr. Don as he and his staff are respectful, patient and take the time to meet her special needs. We both would not consider going to anyone else for our vision needs and exams. It is always a pleasant experience. (even through He calls me Star )

12/12/2013 Robert M. Port Hueneme, CA

Dr. Steensma  has served as my mother's eye care professional for more that twenty years. I recently had to have my eyeglasses repaired and decided to see if they could do it at their location. The staff are all friendly and courteous and helpful. We would highly recommend the services provided by this office.

12/9/2013 John G, Oxnard, CA

Everyone of his staff is not only professional, they also exude kindness and genuine interest in you as a patient. Dr. Steensma was kind and concerned about overall eye health. He was courteous  and wanted to make sure that I was satisfied or had any questions as to my eyes. He was thorough  in his exam and explained each and every  test, showing results after the testing.

Each and every patient that I spoke to all had positive accolades for Dr. Steensma. I appreciate that he also didn't overbook his patients, as my time is as valuable as his.  His staff also seem happy and enjoy working there. Thanks for the service.   I will continue to have Dr. Steensma manage my "old" eyes.

 12/9/2013 Miguel M, Oxnard, CA

I been going to Dr. Steensma office since I moved here since 2000 and he is very professional in what he does. He always remember me no matter how long it been which its great service to me, Dr. Steensma's staff is so nice and very efficient  with there patience's. Ever time I go to Dr.Steensma I know I going to get  Great customer service. I would strongly recommend  Dr. Steensma's office  to anyone that looking for an eye doctor because they care about there patience 's!!!

Thanks again!!

12/6/2013  Andrew L, Hacienda Heights, CA

Just had my eye exam today. I must say that Dr. Steensma and his entire staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Dr. Steensma was very thorough with his explanation after each point of the exam and constantly followed up with check-in questions to ensure that understood his explanation. The staff was very professional and answered confidently to each question I had. Dr. Steensma runs a well-organized operation and provides a great experience for his patients.

It's no surprise that this optometrist has been receiving high ratings on Yelp and other social sites.

11/30/2013 Renee M, Ventura, CA

The staff was incredibly helpful. It was my last day of having insurance and they made everything possible on short notice. Dr Steensma was very friendly and accurate. I'm very particular about my lenses and he got my prescription spot on the first time.

11/26/2013 Lisa G, Oxnard, CA

Great staff great first impression!!! So glad we found this office ....I would recommend them to everyone

11/22/2013 Gary D, Santa Barbara, CA

Always good and thorough service... friendly too... for 30 years as a client of Don's I have felt secure that my vision care is state of the art!

11/19/2013 Gayle S., Port Hueneme, CA

What a fine experience.  The staff is very pleasant and helpful.  I had never seen the equipment that made the exam so easy but very thorough.  Everything was shared and explained.  I left the office confident and understanding what needed to be done.

11/18/2013 Sue B., Lancaster, CA

So glad I found this great eye Doctor - Dr Steensma and his staff do a great job in providing a complete and satisfying visit - explaining everything along the way!

11/18/2013 Patti S., Napa, CA

My husband & I just finished our yearly exams. From the moment we entered the office we were greeted with smiles. The eye exam went smoothly and comfortably. Dr. Steensma takes his time and thoroughly explained what he was doing. Monica assisted me in choosing frames. What a difference from anytime I've ever tried before to pick out the perfect specs! Monica helped pick out the frame by seeing what I was trending to and recommended some glasses which I chose. The billing area really went out of their way to bill and charge in the most cost saving way for us depending upon our insurance and the special they were running. Overall we had a great visit.

11/12/2013 Marina A., Port Hueneme, CA

I went to see Dr. Steesma today and I had a very satisfying and informative visit with him.  He showed me what my eyes looked like in the past and compared them them what they look like now.  He carefully explained to me any problems I may or may not have. His staff was very friendly and welcoming.  I highly recommend this doctor to my friends and family. Thank you doctor I m looking forward to next years visit.

11/11/2013 Robert A., Fillmore, CA

Dr. Steensma is awesome. He is very friendly and takes time to explain everything to you. The most important thing when looking for a doctor is to feel comfortable with them and Dr. Steensma makes you feel comfortable and is very helpful. His staff is second to none! Everybody is friendly and takes care of you with any questions and concerns. I highly recommend this office give them a try you wont regret it.

11/9/2013 Annette B., Oxnard CA

I've been seeing Dr. Steensma for about 5 years now.  He is not only very thorough, but he is the most engaging, friendly doctor I've ever encountered.  You are not just a patient while in his office, you are a person.  He, and his entire staff, make you feel well-taken care of, and you are given a complete walk-through about the condition of your eyes.  I highly recommend Dr. Steensma.

10/15/2013 Hilda P., Oxnard, CA

Dr. Steensma and his staff, especially Kyrstal, were amazing! They were very knowledgeable and friendly! They take their time making sure you understand what is happening and taking it further by explaining confusing insurance policy so you walk out knowing they have taken truly great care of you! What a wonderful experience!

8/20/2013 Andrew D., Oxnard, CA

I have been seen by Dr. Steensma since I was a kid. Excellent service, great attitude and friendly staff. I will continue to come here! Andrew D

7/10/2013 Jackie K., Ventura, CA

Dr. Steensma has the most state of the art technology and friendliest, most knowledgeable staff imaginable. Three of his office staff spent almost an hour with me helping decide which glasses looked best! I trust Dr. Steensma completely, as he is patient and complete in his analysis and explanations. I have recommended him to co-workers and family members as he is honest and very personable.

7/1/2013  Don N., Port Hueneme, CA

Luckily, My eyes are pretty good. My grandma's, not so much. She has been going to Dr. Steensma for decades. He also took care of my Great Grandma. No complaints from either and my Grandma highly recommends him.

4/26/13 Maria M., Oxnard, CA

Dr. Steensma and his staff are great!!! :) they are extremely helpful and friendly. They treat you like family. He takes the time to explain the exam procedure and results. I appreciated the time the staff spent helping my mom selecting a frame and giving us the best price to accommodate our budget. I highly recommend Dr. Steensma's for an eye exam. I promise you won't regret it.

3/29/2013 Beverly K., Port Hueneme, CA

I"ve been reluctant to see an optician because I've been able to obtain reading glasses at the drug store.  What a mistake.  It turns out that not only have I been driving without the proper glasses but I actually have glaucoma. If I hadn't met Dr.. Steensma elsewhere and liked him, I would never have gone in to have my eyes tested.  He is a consummate optician and really cares about his patients. His staff is knowledgable, especially Dawne, and I have been a very happy customer for two years..

3/20/13 Karen A., Port Hueneme, CA

Dr. Steensma and his staff are the best!  Very knowledgeable and friendly.  You can tell that the doc loves what he does, and it is reflected through his staff.

3/13/2013 Ileen G,  Corona, CA

My mom and sister who live in the area both raved about Dr. Steensma.  Even though I live over a hundred miles away, I decided to have him give me my next eye exam...WOW he is so much more through than any other eye exam I've ever had!

The office staff is very polite, caring and professional.  Doctor is kind and professional.  I will definitely return.

3/6/13  Dianne R.  Port Hueneme, CA

I live near Dr. Steensma's office so each time I walked by I noticed the sign that said he was voted "#1 Optomotrist in Port Hueneme" and saw the excellent reviews about him that were posted in his window so I decided I wanted to give his office a try.  I called last week and even though it was his day off, he came in and saw me because I thought I had an eye infection.  That impressed me right off the bat that he would come in on his day off!  And then when I went to the office, his staff was excellent and very helpful.  And Dr. Steensma was very friendly and down to earth but of course also very professional.  He knew immediately what my issue was and prescribed a prescription for me.  And he said my eye sight was not bad enough to require prescription glasses so readers would work for me (what an honest doctor - most would still try to sell you glasses from their office).  And shortly after I got to the office, my husband called to tell me that he had just broken his prescription lense and he didn't know if he should go back to Lenscrafter or not, so Dr. Steensma told me to have him come in to see him.  Poor Dr. - now he was checking out two new patients on his day off!  But he and his staff took great care of us and we will continue to go to him from now on

1/28/2013 Jim B. Ventura, CA

service and staff are always the best.  i have been a patient for over 35 years and have had excellent care every visit.

12/10/2012 OO. Oxnard, CA

I have known Dr. Don Steensma for over 25-years.  His practice consistently offers the highest standards of patient care.   Caring and professional doctor and staff.  I  highly recommend to my patients, family and friends.

12/6/2012  Thomas A Oxnard, CA

Dr. Steensma has been my eye doctor for many years.  He's very thorough and explains everything that is happening.  His office staff are always very friendly.  As I wear contacts I feel very satisfied I'm receiving the best treatment for my eyes here.  Thanks!!!

11/2/2012  Isabell S. Oxnard, CA

I had a very nice experience for my visit to the doctor for my eye exam.

10/24/2012  Marion Y  Oxnard, CA

I had a very pleasant experience at Dr. Steensma's office. short waiting period for my exam. My exam went well- I highly  recommend him to anyone looking for a eye doctor in the ventura county area

10/8/2012  Isabella S  Oxnard, CA

Dr Steensma gives the BEST eye exam ever!!! for something that can be stressful,  it is almost fun- Dr Steensma is very exact in the eye exam and explains everything he is doing to enanble the perfect perscription for my glasses. He makes the whole experience something to be enjoyed. I took frames that I purchased from another place and his staff were more than happy to assit  ordering my progressive, reflective and transistion perscription to be made in the frames I brought in , even though I didnt purchase the frames from them. He is very friendly as well as his entire staff in making the eye exam and perscription process a satisfying experience in every detail. Thank you for your excellent and friendly service to our community. Highly recommended!!!!!

10/7/2012 Yutaka S. Camarillo, CA

I been going to Dr Steensma for over 20 yrs.  This years visit was a pleasant as usual.  He is a great eye dr and take the time to get to know you.

9/27/2012  Jack Daniel G  Oxnard, CA

Great service, the staff is super friendly and very professional, their variety of frames is good too. I'm completely happy with Dr steensma..

9/20/12  Sonia H  Oxnard, CA

Dr. Steensma is highly trained and highly knowedgeable about his field and he understands the importance of an equiy high level of ability in his staff.  i have 14 dr and hate doctors as a class and STILL think he is awesome.

8/23/2012 Herve F. Ventura, CA

Dr Don Steensma took care of my wife Kathleen and me Herve's eye glasses needs. The service by the staff and doctor was outstanding and we will be returning from now on only to this office and doctor soo thank you guy all very much!!!

Herve F. F.

7/4/2012 Esmeralda V. Oxnard, CA

have been coming to dr steensma since I was a kid! great office & staff!

come & see jennie & she'll take the time to pick out your new favorite pair of glasses & sunglasses with you!!

6/28/2012  Lynn C. Port Hueneme, CA

Been going here for many years and now my daughter goes. Love everyone there.

6/26/2012 Sailelagi L.  Oxnard, CA

Today was my first time visiting Dr.Steensmas office and he service was great.all my questions were answered and the optometrist Dr.Steensma was very nice. I will definitely be going there again for annual check ups!

6/20/2012 Sylvia R. Port Hueneme, CA

I am very very happy with the quality care that Dr. Steensma and his wonderful staff provide each time I come in for my appointment. I have been going to Dr. Steensma for almost 35 years, and I have taken my children to him as well since their childhood.

6/20/2012 Carmen R. Port Hueneme, CA

I have been going to Dr. Steensma for several years ( since my early early childhood). I feel comfortable every time I go in for my appointment. I trust Dr. Steensma completely with my vision care. I would highly recommend him and his staff to everyone.

6/18/12 Bill G Oxnard, CA

I'am very pleased with the awsome service and  knowledgeable staff and doctor, I will recommend them to my friends.

6/16/12 Jeanette G Oxnard, CA

I'm so glad I found Dr Don Steensman, a very good doctor and friendly staff. I will definitely refer them to my friends

5/1/12 Heriberto M.  Oxnard, CA.

Dr. Steensma and the staff are very helpful, knowledgable and friendly. The staff help me on selecting the frame that would not only fit me and my needs but also my budget. They helped me understand my insurance allowance. Their varity of options seem endless they have many colors,styles and designers . They took the time with me and it seemed as if I was VIP It alwasys is a pleasant expirence.and I look forward to each year's eye exams as I know I will be well taken care of here!!!!

3/9/12 Doug R  Oxnard, CA.

Dr Steensma has a great bussiness model here.  He spends a lot of time with you and seems to really care about your care.  I suggested some modifications to the strenght of my glasses and with a little feedback, he actually listen and did it.  Most other drs would not do that.  He also is really into health living which is nice to talk about also.  Overall very good visit and recommended.

3/9/12 Jackie K Oxnard, CA

My children and I have been going to Dr. Steensma for about 15 years. During these years, I have recommended him to many of my friends and co-workers. I trust him completely to give us the most thorough exam possible with the highest tech equipment on the market. He and his staff are friendly, courteous and professional. I have no doubt that he provides the best care possible!

2/24/2012 Dena M. Ventura, CA

Dr. Steensma is the greatest! He is friendly, thorough, and takes the time to make you feel like you're his only patient. His staff is professional and friendly, as well. I'm hoping he never retires; it would be difficult to replace the treatment I get with Dr. Steensma.

2/21/2011  Sabes S. Port Hueneme, CA

Been to Dr Steensma with the boys twice and look forward to him taking care of the whole families eye care! He is very thorough and explained every step that he was doing wet better then any other office I've been to! Usually its in and right out every where else! I recommend the good Doc to anyone looking for vision care!!

7/20/2011  P. M. Oxnard, CA

You can't beat Dr. Steensma's for quality eye care.  Easy to get appointments, friendly staff, high-tech equipment (a digital photo of the inside of your eye!) and a very personable and knowledgable doctor.  Willing to work with various insurance plans.

2/23/2011  Jenny L. Port Hueneme, CA

I highly recommend Dr. Steensma for quality eye care. We have 3 generations going to Dr. Steensma and we wouldn't consider going anywhere else. Dr. Steensma and his staff are very professional and pleasant. His eye exams are very thorough and he takes the time to explain to me everything that's going on with my eyes.  My Mom was informed that she has the early signs of an eye disease that can cause blindness. Thanks to Dr. Steensma she's now taking the steps she needs to take to keep her sight. Dr. Steensma is the BEST!

3/18/2011  Mark S. Port Hueneme, CA

I hadn't had a complete eye exam in several years, so started researching the options online.  Normally I opt for whatever is most affordable, but Dr. Steensma's website is so complete and informative that I decided to give him a try.  Everything about the experience was very confidence-inspiring, from the professionalism of the staff, to the complete range of state-of-the-art equipment.  What really stood out, however, was the thorough and knowledgeable care I received from Dr. Steensma.  The clinic is a picture of efficiency, yet Dr. Steensma took plenty of time to answer all my questions.  Overall it was an outstanding experience, and my glasses didn't end up costing much more than they would have at an impersonal chain store.

9/6/2011  carvermeister c. Oxnard, CA

Doc and his staff did a wonderful job of taking care of all of my vision care needs.  They accomodated my disability and easily and worked hard to stay within my limited budget, yet still managed to get me good quality glasses and contacts.  Doc is very knowledgeable and thorough which always sets me at ease. He and the staff really took time to address my concerns and answer my questions.  Although I was a new patient, I felt welcomed and valued as though I had been with them for years.  I would highly recommend the Doc and his staff to everyone needing vision care.  You will be in good hands, as I know I was.

7/27/2011  Claudia A. Oxnard, CA

Great, helpful service all around the board. I look forward to continue being seen at Dr Steensma's office.

6/23/2011 Marlene B. Port Hueneme, CA

I recently became a very satisfied patient of Dr. Steensma. I've worn contacts and glasses for more than 20 years, and found my him to be the most information, friendly and caring doctor I've seen over the years.  When I picked up my new contacts I was leaving for a trip  He let me "try out" several pairs of the daily use contacts for me to use swimming and snorkling.  Wow!  I live close by, but whatever the distance, I plan to have Dr. Steensa for all my eye care.

6/1/2011  Monica A. Oxnard, CA

I have known and been a patient of Dr Steensma for about 15 years. I have worked in Optometry for about 6 years. Even though I have worked at different optical locations, I still come back here for my exams. The exam is completely thorough, the prescription is always accurate, and the staff is awesome! I reccomend Dr. Steensma to anybody who wants great service and friendly yet professional office.

5/26/2011  Darla P. Oxnard, CA

As good as it gets! I've had the pleasure of being a patient at Dr. Steensma's office ever since he opened a LONG time ago. Give him a try and you will find a caring and compassionate eye care professional. Darla P.

 

Favorite optometrist

Winner of the 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 & 2017 Ventura Star newspaper Readers Choice Contest:

(7 years in a row!)

Winner of the 2015 & 2016 Ventura Reporter "Best of Ventura County":